It’s summer, and it’s hot.

Our neighborhood doesn’t have a pool. I’ve tried to get in at the giant swimming pool at the apartment buildings down the street, but no dice. You have to be resident of one of the buildings. Their pool, which faces Beauregard Street, is HUGE and very inviting. And there never seems to be anyone swimming. Every day I pass by with envy and am tempted to jump the fence and cool off in there. But like a good neighbor, I don’t.

I have also checked in at the closest private pool, at Dowden Terrace. Not only was an annual membership expensive, there was a wait-list to join.

So that leaves my beloved Dora Kelley park.

Frolicking in the stream.

Frolicking in the stream with Rebecca.

I often see families swimming in Holmes Run, but I am not comfortable letting my dog drink the water (although he often does so, with no ill effects. Yet.). With all the construction going on up stream, and workers tinkering with what looks like sewer portals in the park for the past couple weeks, I do not advocate even touching the water.

But it was hot. We had to get in there. And so we did.

Momo & Rebecca

Momo & Rebecca